Take your summer to the next level!

Explore Cushing’s 5-week Summer Session programs
in academics and arts (and TONS of fun!) for students ages 11-18.

Get ready to begin an amazing journey.
You'll have the BEST SUMMER EVER! 

Additional Information
  • Cushing

Graduation Awards

Congratulations to the entire Class of 2014 and to the following seniors who received the Graduation Awards listed below during Cushing's 139th Commencement on May 24, 2014:
The “Mann Family Award for Excellence in the Arts” was given this year for the first time, and will hereafter be given annually. This award was established by Tom and Ellen Mann, in honor of the faculty who taught, encouraged and inspired their son, Creighton, a member of Cushing’s Class of 2012. The award is given to a student with passion and talent in the Visual Arts who is enrolled in both Visual Arts and the Academic Support Program, is engaged creatively in the Cushing community, is a leader within a subsector of Cushing Academy and has worked to overcome obstacles during his or her time at Cushing. The “Mann Family Award for Excellence in the Arts” is awarded to: Christine Bonetti.
The “Deborah Evans (Class of) 1974 Award” is given in memory of a young woman whose dedication to life was limitless, whose spirit brightened every facet of our school, whose warmth and concern touched everyone, and whose presence and vitality have become a cherished part of our Academy. She gave to her school the best of herself. This year the recipient of this award is: Keeley Frost.
The “Holden (Class of) 1888 Prizes” are given in honor of William and Eliza Holden, both of whom truly exemplified the characteristics of loyalty and friendliness. We have three deserving recipients for this honorable prize: Maria Reyes Lopez, Mariah Weintraub and George Peters.
The “Pliny A. Boyd (Class of) 1894 prizes” are given to the girl and boy who have demonstrated the best spirit of general helpfulness and have had the best citizenship record during the current school year. The very worthy recipients this year are: Stephanie Martin and Ackim Mpofu.
The “Senator Marcus A. Coolidge Award” was established to honor Senator Coolidge’s leadership as Mayor of Fitchburg, a United States Senator, and as a Trustee and Board President of Cushing Academy for 28 years. This award is presented annually to the President of the Academy’s Student Government to highlight the importance of leadership in politics and government, as exemplified by the Senator’s career. This year the recipient is: Maxwell Grafton.
The “Eaton (Class of) 1900 and Dunn (Class of) 1899 Prizes” - The Eaton and Dunn families are synonymous with service to this academy as exemplified by Alice (Eaton) Dunn and Frederick J. Dunn, both of the class of 1899, as well as Lillian Eaton, Class of 1900. Mr. Dunn was a longtime Trustee and Board President and Miss Eaton taught at Cushing Academy for 30 years. This award goes to that girl and that boy who have rendered the finest service to the Academy during the current academic year. The recipients this year are: Michelle Tierney and Richard Boyd.
The “Pliny A. Boyd 1894 Award” is given to that girl who has demonstrated the highest character and ideals, and through them has exerted the greatest influence. The recipient of this award is known as the “Ideal Cushing Girl.” She has earned the greatest level of respect from her fellow students and faculty alike. By vote of the faculty, the ‘Ideal Cushing Girl’ for 2014 is: Gabrielle Dutil.
The “Webster Moulton 1944 Award” is given in memory of a boy who greatly loved this school. Though stricken with illness while a student at Cushing, he set an example of courage and cheerfulness. A capable student and athlete, he found joy in helping others and in participating in the activities of our school. The award goes to that boy who most nearly emulates the standards of character, scholarship and general promise set by Webster Moulton. By vote of the faculty, the 'Ideal Cushing Boy' for 2014 is: Qingjie Bob Zeng.
The “Alumni Salutatorian Award” - The Salutatorian has the honor of having attained the second highest cumulative average in the graduating class. The class of 2014 salutatorian is Qingjie Bob Zeng.
The “Josephine Veinot Cook 1933 Valedictorian Award” - The honor of leading one’s class academically is a rare distinction. It is an honor to be forever worn. The honor of leading the Class of 2014 this year has been earned by Danni Wang.
Some of the Graduation Award were in the form of Kiva Cards. Kiva is a non-profit organization that connects lenders to borrowers around the world who are seeking business loans to lift them out of poverty. Our students will have the opportunity to choose the loan project that they wish to fund. Then, as they are repaid, they can repeat the process again and again. In awarding Kiva Cards, we continue to encourage students to make a difference – to be the change they want to see in the world.

Cushing Academy

39 School Street
Ashburnham, Massachusetts 01430

Cushing Academy

Cushing Academy exists for students and develops curious, creative, and confident learners and leaders. Founded in 1865, Cushing is a co-ed, college preparatory boarding and day school for students in grades 9-12 and PG. Our students, who come from over 30 states and 30 countries, excel in our outstanding academic, art, and athletic offerings. We welcome you to visit our community and beautiful 162-acre campus in Ashburnham, Mass., just one hour from Boston, to experience all that Cushing has to offer.